First-time ski racing question

Stuff that doesnt fit anywhere else.

Moderator: Moderator Group

Fpb
xcskiforum 10K

First-time ski racing question

Postby Fpb » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:03 pm

I've been skiing for 6 years (classical) and think I would like to try a race sometime. When I ski with a local recreational club, I'm about the fastest person there, but when I look at ski race results, I don't know if I could even keep up with the last-place finisher. It is not a matter of fitness, because in a running race I'm typically in the top 5% overall. I've been on the lookout for an event geared towards first-timers, but none seem to exist (I'm in upstate NY). Any thoughts or suggestions?

makerr
xcskiforum 10K

Re: First-time ski racing question

Postby makerr » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:20 pm

Don't worry about how you'll compare to the rest of the field. Think of a race as an opportunity to find your limits, improve your technique, get faster, ski more efficiently and eventually find that perfect day when you'll ski that perfect race. Take the plunge and enjoy the experience, it will only make you better!

jt10000
World Cup

Postby jt10000 » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:41 pm

Fpb wrote:I've been skiing for 6 years (classical) and think I would like to try a race sometime. When I ski with a local recreational club, I'm about the fastest person there, but when I look at ski race results, I don't know if I could even keep up with the last-place finisher. It is not a matter of fitness, because in a running race I'm typically in the top 5% overall. I've been on the lookout for an event geared towards first-timers, but none seem to exist (I'm in upstate NY). Any thoughts or suggestions?

Just do it. The worst thing that'll happen is you'll be last. You probably won't be, but even if you are, so what?

Unfortunately you just missed a classic race that's I've heard is really nice - the Winona Forest Tourathon.