Anyone CAT Skiing? ...I am! : )

Moderator: Moderator Group

JeffOYB
Ski Forum God

Anyone CAT Skiing? ...I am! : )

Postby JeffOYB » Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:40 pm

I've been enjoying my CAT Skis for the past 2 months.

I mostly stride when I ski so these offroad skis are the ticket for that skillset.

I like how they actually give positive feedback on kick and negative when you kick weak. You can't overkick em. But if you underkick or are slightly late you'll clack em.

I find that rollerskis are largely about doublepoling, which I also like to do. But today it was a bit mixed with snow on the ground -- rollerskis woulda hated that. CAT Skis on the trail, no sweat.

Of course RS's also work the legs. I look forward to putting more time in with them. Who knows maybe snow will be here soon anyway!

So far the CAT Skis are the only leg-sport I can do other than biking. (Bum knee.) It's a nice, pleasant, high intensity activity. I only do it 20 minutes at a shot.

Thank heavens I can still bike! I sure still dig CX in the fall. I've reduced my barriers greatly tho due to the knee -- bummer coz I love barriers and run-ups.

I like to do 20 mins CX plus 20 mins Cat Ski. Plus some circuit work. (I have a Chuck Norris gym that I kneel on and use as a bellyboard for doublepoling+core work.

I need to see the doc about knee -- haven't been able to run in the past year. I miss it bad! I need to get the knee scanned to see why it's bad and what the prospects are. Insurance was messed up but now slowly being straightened out -- it'll be the first thing I do.
Jeff Potter
http://OutYourBackDoor.com
indie outdoor adventure, culture, heritage
...bikes, boats, skis, luggage, media & more!

skiffrace
xcskiforum 50K

Re: Anyone CAT Skiing? ...I am! : )

Postby skiffrace » Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:46 pm

Thanks for the info. Catskis are among the most ingenious exercise devices out there!
How do they deal with obstacles on the trail (ruts, stones, tree roots)?