Novice Starter Questions

Moderator: Moderator Group

dcpattie
xcskiforum 30K

Novice Starter Questions

Postby dcpattie » Sun Apr 05, 2015 8:58 am

First post from a complete novice. I'm interested in starting to rollerski and have some basic preliminary questions for the community. I understand that learning to nordic ski is best done on snow and then transition those skills to roller skiing. However, my reality is that I live in Northern Virginia where the nordic options are nonexistent unless you drive about 3-hrs. I do have an athletic background and I'm accustomed to 15-hr training weeks. I also have been dappling with the Concept 2 Skierg since December (I purchased the new 2014 version). Enough about me, on to the questions:

Equipment: As a complete novice, should I purchase Skikes (V8 lift) or roller skis? Considerations - I'm interested in both classic and skate skiing but would like to focus on classic and double poling at first. I have a nice asphalt bike path near my home where I could perform the majority of training but would likely do longer weekend sessions on the C&O canal (a hard packed dirt trail). I think as a novice I'd like to have brakes - speed reducers might be a nice option as well.

Lessons: Anyone know of a club or instructor near Washington DC that teaches roller skiing technique and principles? As an alternative, I would be willing to travel along the east coast and would even be willing to enroll in a weekend camp for adults if such a program exists.

Dave in VA
Dave in Nordic Virginia

skiffrace
xcskiforum 50K

Re: Novice Starter Questions

Postby skiffrace » Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:41 pm

Hi Dave,
I am in a somewhat similar situation to yours. I also have an athletic background (rowing) and even did some XC skiing long time ago.
However, I live in Portland, OR, where snow is once-in a blue moon occurrence, and while mountains are not that far off, I refuse burning fossil fuels for 2 hours to satisfy my hobby, even on weekends.