Pick my Perfect Ski

Skis, Boots and Pole Reviews and Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Group

dcpattie
xcskiforum 30K

Pick my Perfect Ski

Postby dcpattie » Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:11 am

I had an opportunity to nordic ski for the first time in years at an official nordic ski center (Arizona Nordic Village in Flagstaff). I've been rollerskiing for two years on a set of Jenex RC150's (stable double wheel configuration). Exclusively double poling up to 35k. I decided to rent a skate ski set up with the idea of double poling the entire time. The first trail I selected was an icy trail without classic tracks and I was very shaky at first (especially on the down hills). I was able to make it around without falling. Finally I found the trails with classic tracks and the skate track was groomed with nice powder. Here I felt very comfortable. I was able to DP up all the hills and was very stable in the tracks. Still, I felt that the skis could be more stable and I would have liked more control on the downhills and turns.

Is there a skate ski on the market (or classic ski) that is wide, has good glide, and turns well (perhaps even with a metal edge)?

I draw from my experience as a rower. Some hauls are more stable with better "run" whereas others are more narrow, accelerate better but are more "tippy" and have a nervous feel to them. I'm looking for a stable ski with lots of "run" that also turns easily.
Dave in Nordic Virginia

Magnus Johansson
xcskiforum 40K

Re: Pick my Perfect Ski

Postby Magnus Johansson » Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:43 am

dcpattie wrote:Is there a skate ski on the market (or classic ski) that is wide, has good glide, and turns well (perhaps even with a metal edge)?

Yes, for classic there are, but for skate one does not want the edges to be too far from the center line of the foot. Regarding metal edges I don't know if there are any reasonably narrow skis with that any longer.